Scrabble Association, Singapore
Mailing address: Scrabble Association, 14 Robinson Road, #08-01A Far East Finance Building, Singapore 048545
Web master: webmaster at


The 6th World Youth Scrabble Championship (WYSC) will tentatively be held during the second week of December at a venue to be announced. It is estimated that Singapore will receive places for five participants.

Eligibility Criteria

A person will be eligible for consideration to represent Singapore in WYSC 2011 only if he/she:

  1. is an SA member and Singapore citizen/PR from the end of the qualifying period to the date of WYSC

  2. is 17 years old of age or less as of 31 December 2011.

  3. has played at least 24 rated games from end of WYSC 2010 till the Grandeur 8 (normally held in September) competition, inclusive. Byes will not be used in calculation of ratings. Byes awarded to a player will count towards the 24 game requirement. Byes conceded by a player will not count towards the 24 games.

  4. has an SA rating of at least 1500 at the end of the qualifying period.

Selection Criteria

The estimated five spots will be given to five highest-ranked players at the end of the WYSC qualifying period based on SA ratings who fulfil all the eligibility criteria above.

Reserves will also be selected, as possible replacements for any of the Singapore representatives in the event that any of the representatives are not able to play in the WYSC. Reserves will be the next-highest-rated player(s) who are eligible as determined by the same eligibility criteria above.

If any of the WYSC spots is vacant because the player declines or becomes ineligible, the spot will be offered to the reserves in rating order. For any queries on the selection for WYSC 2011, please email your question to or send a text message to the President at 97874640. In the event of a dispute during the selection process, SA Committee will be the arbiter, and their decision is final.

-SA Committee

Return to Scrabble Association home page

© 2024 Scrabble Association
Last updated: 24 Jun 2011